Return to site

USQ 2016 Alumnus of the Year Winners

· Education,Business,Research

It's official!! The 2016 winners and finalists of the USQ Alumnus of the Year Awards: (from left) Dr Odette Best, Indigenous Service Alumnus of the Year winner; Dr Keng-Boon Ooi, Research/Academic Alumnus of the Year runner-up; Professor Sean Ryan, International Alumnus of the Year winner; Sharon Boyce, Outstanding and Community Service Alumnus of the Year winner; Sharan Doyle-Berry, Professional Alumnus of the Year runner-up; Abdulkarim Al Zarouni, Young Alumnus of the Year winner; Paul Ventaloro, Community Service Alumnus of the Year runner-up; and David Fagan, Professional Alumnus of the Year winner. #usqpride

USQ Singapore Alumni Chapter would like to congratulate and recognise the 2016 USQ Alumnus of the Year Award winners:

Singapore Alumni Chapter's Vice Chairman, Leesa Soulodre was awarded a Highly Commended for her service to the USQ Singapore Alumni Chapter.

USQ Singapore Alumni Chapter also recognised our USQ Singapore Alumnus of the Year Nominees, Yoong Hui Chia (International), Kumaran Rajaram (Research) and Laura Allison-Reumann (Research).

Sharon Boyce
Outstanding Alumnus of the Year & Community Service Alumnus of the Year
Bachelor of Arts, 1990
Graduate Diploma in Further Education and Training, 1993
Master of Education – Honours, 1997

Sharon Boyce is a true example of what can be achieved with a determined attitude. Sharon was diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis when she was 11-years-old and is confined to an electric wheelchair, but she has not let her circumstances stop her from attaining her personal, career and community goals. Sharon’s achievements are impressively varied; she has written a children’s book to help kids learn about physical disability, she is involved in a number of local and state networks and organisations including the Queensland Disability Advisory Council, of which she is the current chair, and she developed Discovering DisAbility and Diversity – a first-of-its-kind experiential disability awareness program that travels around the region informing the community about people’s differences and how to celebrate them.

David Fagan
Professional Alumnus of the Year
Bachelor of Arts, 1978
For more than a decade David Fagan acted as the voice of, and for, Queensland through his leadership and editorship of The Courier-Mail. He also led media company, News Corp’s 41 state mastheads through the transition from print to multimedia publishing, during which time he had an editorial staff of more than 700 people and a budget of AUD$70 million. David now applies those formative skills at the Queensland University of Technology (QUT), as Director of Corporate Transition. He is also a Director of Carers’ Queensland, a Deputy State Australian Republican Movement (ARM) Convenor and an Australian Press Council Adjudicator. David prides himself on his role in developing news and media products that better told the story of everyday Queenslanders.

Professor Sean Ryan
International Alumnus of the Year
Master of Business Administration, 1999
For United Kingdom-based astronomer Professor Sean Ryan aiming for the stars when it comes to career achievements is literally what he does
best. He has worked in observatories in Japan, Australia, the United Kingdom and the United States of America, where he worked with the
Hubble Space Telescope. Sean is a Professor of Astrophysics and is currently the Head of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics
(STEM) at the UK’s Higher Education Academy. His research studies the formation of elements across cosmic history and focuses on the birth
of the Milky Way and the discovery of its oldest stars. In 2015 he published his 100th refereed research paper titled A three-dimensional
hydrodynamical line profile analysis of iron lines and barium isotopes in HD140283.

Dr Rael Lange
Research/Academic Alumnus of the Year
Bachelor of Applied Science, 1994
Graduate Diploma of Applied Science, 1996
Doctor of Philosophy, 2000

Dr Rael Lange is an award-winning researcher in the field of clinical neuropsychology, in both civilian and military settings, at a national and international level. He is currently the Research Director and Senior Scientist for the Defense and Veterans Brain Injury Center at the Walter Reed National Military Medical Center in Maryland, USA. Rael also serves as the Scientific Director for a large-scale congressionally mandated study into the outcomes of traumatic brain injury within the first 15 years of injury. For the past 16 years he has been an active clinical researcher and has published more than 119 peer reviewed papers and book chapters, 172 published abstracts, and 232 conference presentations. He is currently responsible for a national program of research (USA) funded at more than USD$45 million.

Abdulkarim Al Zarouni
Young Alumnus of the Year
Bachelor of Business, 2010
Abdulkarim Al Zarouni is an enterprising 29-year-old. He is an award-winning, Key Account Manager at Dubai International Airport where he has been recognised for his contribution to the implementation of new safety practices and improving work performance within various departments across airport operations. Abdulkarim is an entrepreneur, having launched several businesses under the banner of Al Zarouni Sons Group. He is a real estate consultant who has won awards for his innovative ideas and passion relating to the United Arab Emirates property environment. Lastly, but certainly not least, Abdulkarim is a humanitarian aid volunteer who has worked with several international aid organisation such as Doctors Without Borders and IIRO in Africa and at the Syrian-Lebanese border, and with other Dubai-based not-for-profit groups whose goals are to support local causes.

Dr Odette Best
Indigenous Service Alumnus of the Year
Doctor of Philosophy, 2012
Dr Odette Best is an Aboriginal woman who has had a long and distinguished career as a Registered Nurse, an academic and an historian of Aboriginal nurses and midwives. Her PhD, titled Yatdjuligin: The Stories of Queensland Aboriginal Nurses 1950-2005, explored the journey of six Aboriginal Registered Nurses across six decades. Odette has been acknowledged for her work through a Churchill Fellowship in 2002 and an International Council of Nursing Fellowship in 2009. She was also awarded the 2015 Tertiary Teaching and Learning Award from the Australian Educational Publishing Awards for her textbook Yatdjuligin: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nursing and Midwifery Care. She is committed to primary health care within Aboriginal health, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) and women’s health services.

Johnny Hung
Chapter Volunteer of the Year
Bachelor of Business, 1992
Johnny Hung is a Hong Kong Practising Accountant and Chartered Secretary, and the owner of M.H.Hung & Co, a Hong Kong-based accounting firm. He is also the current Chair of the USQ Graduates Society Hong Kong Alumni Chapter and was the driving force behind the chapter’s restructure in 2010 and its subsequent growth and success. Over the last six years, Johnny has worked tirelessly to strengthen the chapter’s ties to USQ and its relationships with local businesses and industry. After serving as Vice-Chair for four years, Johnny was unanimously elected as Chair in 2014, with his platform of passion for promoting and fostering fellowship among USQ alumni living and working in Hong Kong. Chapter members meet regularly for social, volunteer and professional events.

All Posts

Almost done…

We just sent you an email. Please click the link in the email to confirm your subscription!